Thomas Library Blog

Each spring Wittenberg University celebrates the accomplishments of students, faculty and staff at the annual Honors Convocation. Thomas Library takes great pride in the endeavors of our student-employees and would like to take this opportunity to recognize those who received honors this year. I apologize if I missed your name and you were not included on the list. Please know that it was not intentional.

Administration

Molly A. Linkous Gamma Sigma Alpha

Audio-Visual

Bess Bonerigo Psi Chi University Honors Madelyn H. Miller Alpha Lambda Delta Emily Rayens Alpha Lambda Delta

Circulation

Gabrielle E. Bell The Wittenberg Guild Award (Art) Jenna Gentner Tau Pi Phi Caitlin E. Green The Ralston C. Thompson Award (Art) Hannah E. Hatch Alpha Lambda Delta Margaret Huffman Kappa Delta Pi Virginia C. Kotlinski Alpha Lambda Delta Travis J. Lawrence Phi Eta Sigma Kara K. Snyder Gamma Sigma Alpha

Reference

Alyssa M. Michaud The Tau Pi Phi Award (Business) Tau Pi Phi Gamma Sigma Alpha Beatrice J. Nichols The Kurt J. Fickert Award (Languages/Spanish) Students with 4.0 Grade Point Average for Past Two Semesters Phi Beta Kappa Presidential Scholars: Charles G. Heckert Scholarship Wesley P. Schmid-Broome The Davis Hartman Award (Religion)

Student Managers

Sam Catania Psi Chi Khoa A. Dao Mortar Board Omicron Delta Kappa Alyssa Hamilton Psi Chi Rebecca L. Petrilli Mortar Board Omicron Delta Kappa Carly D. Sparrow The S. Paul & Clara M. Weaver Endowed Scholarship (Art) Lauren Zimmerman Alpha Kappa Delta

Technical Services

Katlin B. Stivers The Kurt J. Fickert Award (Languages/French) University Honors Congratulations to each of you for the hard work and dedication you have put into your academic careers. The honors and recognition you received at the 2013 Honors Convocation is evidence of your success as students at Wittenberg. We are proud of you and applaud your contributions to Wittenberg University. Doug Lehman Director, Thomas Library

Bridging Cultures Bookshelf: Muslim Journeys and Oxford Islamic Studies Online [caption id="attachment_915" align="alignleft" width="300"] Books received through the Muslim Journeys Bookshelf.[/caption]The library is proud to announce Ð re-announce as might be the case Ð that we have been awarded a collection of materials known as ÒThe Muslim Journeys BookshelfÓ. This collection, compiled and awarded by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the American Library Association, has been chosen based in the advice of scholars, librarians, and other humanities educators and program experts. It includes a variety of resources Ð some of which are displayed in the photos on this page Ð from poetry and art books, to stories of faith and introduction to the origins of Islam and its existence today, in America and around the world. This collection holds many great resources to explore and gain a better understanding of Islam, or even just become acquainted with its foundations. [caption id="attachment_917" align="alignright" width="259"] More books received through the Muslim Journeys Bookshelf.[/caption]Along with this we also have access to the Oxford Islamic Studies Online database. This resource combines the material of six Oxford publications: The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford Dictionary of Islam, The Islamic World: Past and Present, and What Everyone Needs to Know about Islam, as well as a fully searchable QurÕan Ð traditional and modern translation. We are excited to offer access to this easily useable and comprehensive database.Ê This is a great resource for everything from early browsing, and curiosity-driven personal inquiries, to in-depth research. Even casual browsers can easily gain a fuller understanding of Islam and the Islamic World using this resource. Oxford Islamic Studies Online can be accessed from the LibraryÕs webpage under the list of databases. A brief description and URL to the database can be found HERE.

No more crowding around one tiny laptop screen! Thomas Library has 4 Collaboration Stations where you and your team can gather to view one, luxuriously large computer screen.

• Checkout a wireless mouse and keyboard to use the campus computer at the Station
• Checkout some cables to connect your own laptop (or mobile device)
• Reserve a room with a Station to practice presentations (library rooms 310 and 324 are both equipped with Collaboration Stations)

Equipment can be checked out from the Circulation Desk. For troubleshooting tips or help getting setup, visit the Reference Desk. The Stations were created thanks to a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services awarded by the State Library of Ohio. [caption id="attachment_900" align="aligncenter" width="640"] Students working on a project at a Collaboration Station in Thomas Library.[/caption]