Cyril F. dos Passos was born in New York City on February 7, 1887 to Benjamin Franklin dos Passos and Isabel Kirker Strong. His father and uncle had a law practice in New York that Cyril began working at in 1905. He received his law degree from the New York Law School in 1909. For nineteen years he practiced law in New York and also became a prominent business man. During his retirement he took up the study of entomology and eventually was made a Research Associate in Lepidoptera at the American Museum of Natural History. In his own words he describes some of his contributions during this time:
"Early in my study of the Lepidoptera, I came to appreciate the importance of types and was surprised to find that no one had made a collection of photographs of the types of the Nearctic Rhopalocera. To remedy this situation, I devised a portable photographic apparatus and I visited various museums and collections, photographing their types of Nearctic Rhopalocera. Some of these museums and collections were the Canadian National Collection, the British Museum (Natural History), the Paris Museum, the Carnegie Museum, the Chicago Natural History Museum, then known as the Field Museum, the United States National Museum and the Philadelphia Academy of Natural Sciences.
In 1952 I was appointed a Research Associate in Lepidoptera on the scientific staff of the Carnegia Museum. This, I believe, was the first time that a person had held that position on the staff of two museums.
In addition to my interest in securing all possible photographs of Nearctic types of Rhopalocera, I realized quite early the importance of zoological nomenclature and attended the International Congress of Zoology at Paris (1948), Copenhagen (1953), London (1958) and participated in the sections devoted to nomenclature at those meetings. Also, I attended the Colloquium on zoological nomenclature that was held in Copenhagen prior to the International Congress of Zoology, as well as the Colloquium held in London prior to the Congress. At the two latter meetings I presented papers on various questions of nomenclature.
Pursuant to my interest in Rhopalocera, I attended the International Congress of Entomology at Stockhold (1948), Amsterdam (1951), Montreal (1956), but was unable to go to Vienna (1960). At the Montreal meeting, I read a paper on the Satyrid butterflies of Northwestern North America, which is printed in the Proceedings of that Congress."
His Entomology studies have greatly added to the field as a whole. The Journal of the Leipdopterists' Society published an account of his life and accomplishments in 1988, summarizing his contributions to the field as,
"It is still possible to make important and lasting contributions to entomology without earning a graduate degree in the subject or a related discipline; witness Cyril F. dos Passos, an amateur who made our science his profession and served it very well."
In 1965 he received an honorary Doctorate of Science from Wittenberg University for his commitment to the study of entomology. In 1981 he began to donate a large portion of his private library to Wittenberg for public research and enjoyment. He believed in Wittenberg as a place of learning, passion and heart and wanted his library to be used through us. He passed away in 1986 at his home in New Jersey.
The dos Passos collection was given to Wittenberg University from Cyril and Maria dos Passos beginning in 1981.
Creator
Cyril F. dos Passos
Access Restrictions
This collection is open for research. Contact Suzanne Smailes for more information
Heitzman, J. Richard and Cyril F. dos Passos. "Lethe Portlandis (Fabricius) and L. Anthedon (Clark), Sibling Species with Descriptions of New Subspecies of the Former (Lepidoptera: Satyridae)." Transactions of the American Entomological Society. 100. (May 1974), 52-99. OPAL Record Link
dos Passos, Cyril F. A Synonymic List of the Nearctic Rhopalocera. New Haven: Lepidopterists' Society, 1964. OPAL Record Link
Wilkinson, Ronald S. "Cyril Franklin dos Passos (1887-1986)." Journal of The Lepidopterists' Society. 42, no. 3. (1988),155-163. https://images.peabody.yale.edu/lepsoc/jls/1980s/1988/1988-42(3)155-Wilkinson.pdf
Grey, L. Paul. "Memories of Cyril F. dos Passos (1887-1986)." Journal of The Lepidopterists' Society. 42, no. 3. (1988), 164-167. https://images.peabody.yale.edu/lepsoc/jls/1980s/1988/1988-42(3)164-Grey.pdf
Metadata for Gallery Above Completed by Megan Bobb in 2015:
1a. Thomas Rare: QL 551 .G4 S64 1797 v. 1 Folio
Title: Histoire Naturelle des Lépidoptères les plus rares de Georgie. Contenant Leurs Caractères Systématiques, Les Particularités de Leurs Différentes Métamorphoses, avec Les Plantes Qui Leur Servent D’Aliment. Tome Premier.
Translated Title: The Natural History of the Rarer Lepidopterous Insects of Georgia. Including Their Systematic Characters, the Particulars of Their Several Metamorphoses, and the Plants on Which They Feed. Vol. I.
Author: Composée d’Après Les Observations de M. Jean Abbot, qui a résidé plusieurs années en ce pays, par Jacques Edouard Smith, D.M. M.S.R., membre de l’acad. Impériale Naturæ Curiosorum, des académies de Stockholm, Turin, Lisbonne, Upsal, Lunden, Philadelphie, et de La Société d’Hist. Nat. De Paris, Président de La Société Linnéenne
Translated Author: Collected from the observations of Mr. John Abbot, many years resident in that country, by James Edward Smith, M.D. F.R.S member of the Imperial Acad. Naturæ Curiosorum, the Academies of Stockholm, Turn, Lisbon, Upsal, Lund, Philadelphia, and of the Nat. Hist. Society of Paris, President of the Linnæan Society
James Edward Smith, M.D. F.R.S., 1759-1828 and Mr. John Abbot, 1751-1840/1
Publication/Print? Date: 1797
Publication/Print? Location: London, England
Publisher: ?? [Printed for J. Edwards, Pall Mall; Cadell and Davies, Strand; and J. White, Fleet Street. (booksellers)]
Printer: T. Bensley
Illustrator: Unknown
Language: English/French
Subject: North American Butterflies and Moths
Type: Nonfiction; Scientific; Encyclopedic?
Size: 43.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Bound in dark green cloth (rebound at some point?) with black leather? Spine. On spine there’s a dark green label with English Title (The Natural History of Insects of Georgia). Deckle edged text block. Includes hand-painted? Color plates exhibiting stages of butterfly species’ metamorphosis, as well as the plants on which they feed. Entries for each species are printed after each plate in first English, then French.
Pagination: 100 [numbered] pages: only the entries are numbered consecutively – for species A, the English entry is page 1, the French entry is page two, and so on.
100 pages: [i]-vii: preface of the editor; [ix]-xv: preface de l’éditeur (French); 1-100: text. Plates unnumbered.
Collation: 2°: prelims: [a2: dedication To Miss Johnnes, of Hafod. Unsigned] b2-e2; text: [includes unsigned, tipped in? plates] B2-I2, K2-U2, X2-2C2
Notes: Two book plates. One: The American Museum of Natural History, New York City, Yours Truly John Abbot. Two: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos (DONOR).
1b. Thomas Rare: QL 551 .G4 S64 1797 v. 2 Folio
Title: Histoire Naturelle des Lépidoptères les plus rares de Georgie. Contenant Leurs Caractères Systématiques, Les Particularités de Leurs Différentes Métamorphoses, avec Les Plantes Qui Leur Servent D’Aliment. Tome Second.
Translated Title: The Natural History of the Rarer Lepidopterous Insects of Georgia. Including Their Systematic Characters, the Particulars of Their Several Metamorphoses, and the Plants on Which They Feed. Vol. II.
Author: Composée d’Après Les Observations de M. Jean Abbot, qui a résidé plusieurs années en ce pays, par Jacques Edouard Smith, D.M. M.S.R., membre de l’acad. Impériale Naturæ Curiosorum, des académies de Stockholm, Turin, Lisbonne, Upsal, Lunden, Philadelphie, et de La Société d’Hist. Nat. De Paris, Président de La Société Linnéenne
Translated Author: Collected from the observations of Mr. John Abbot, many years resident in that country, by James Edward Smith, M.D. F.R.S member of the Imperial Acad. Naturæ Curiosorum, the Academies of Stockholm, Turn, Lisbon, Upsal, Lund, Philadelphia, and of the Nat. Hist. Society of Paris, President of the Linnæan Society
James Edward Smith, M.D. F.R.S., 1759-1828 and Mr. John Abbot, 1751-1840/1
Publication/Print? Date: 1797
Publication/Print? Location: London, England
Publisher: ?? [Printed for J. Edwards, Pall Mall; Cadell and Davies, Strand; and J. White, Fleet Street. (booksellers)]
Printer: T. Bensley
Illustrator: Unknown
Language: English/French
Subject: North American Lepidoptera
Type: Nonfiction; Scientific; Encyclopedic?
Size: 43.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Bound in dark green cloth (rebound at some point?) with black leather? Spine. On spine there’s a dark green label with English Title (The Natural History of Insects of Georgia). Deckle edged text block. Includes hand-painted? Color Plates exhibiting stages of butterfly species’s metamorphosis, as well as the plants on which they feed. Entries for each species are printed after each plate in first English, then French.
Pagination: 108 pages: entries are numbered in continuance from volume one, which is to say the numbering starts at 101.
108 pages [101-208]: 101-208: text; [unnumb.]: Latin index, English index, index François
Collation: The collation, like the pagination, picks up where volume 1 left off.
2°: 2D2-2I2, 2K2-2U2, 2X2-3G2; 3H1-3I1, 3K1: indices
Notes: Two book plates. One: The American Museum of Natural History, New York City, Yours Truly John Abbot. Two: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos (DONOR).
2a. Thomas Rare: QL 542 .D68 1846 Folio v. 1
Title: The Genera of Diurnal Lepidoptera: Comprising Their Generic Characters, A Notice of Their Habits and Transformations, and a Catalogue of the Species of Each Genus. In Two Volumes. Volume I.
Author: Edward Doubleday, F.L.S. F.Z.S. and John O. Westwood, F.L.S.
Edward Doubleday, F.L.S. F.Z.S., 1811-1849 and John Obadiah Westwood, F.L.S., 1805-1893
Publication Date: 1846-1850
Publication Location: London, England
Publisher: Longman, Brown, Green, and Longman’s
Print Date: Unknown
Print Location: London, England
Printer: Spottiswoodes and Shaw
Illustrator: Illustrated with eighty-six plates by William C. Hewitson, author of “British [Z]oology,” etc.
William Chapman Hewitson, 1806-1878
Language: English
Subject: Diurnal lepidoptera
Type: Nonfiction; Scientific; Zoological; Encyclopedic?
Size: 38.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Bound in light green cloth with tan cloth? spine. Spine has a red label with title “The Genera of Diurnal Lepidoptera” on it in gold, as well as larger gold “Vol. I” and some gilt double-rules. Spine is detached from rest of binding, and text block is a little loose, although not detached anywhere. Moderate to extensive fraying of front hinge. Includes hand-painted? color plates of lepidoptera genera at the back, following the text. Some writing in pencil on front endpaper and throughout text.
Pagination: 250 pages: [iii]-iv: address; [v]-vi: index; [vii]-xi: list of plates; [1]-250: text; [unnumb.]: explanation of the plates of details, plates
Collation: 2°: [Prelims: a2-b2] B2-C1 [?], D2-I2, K2-U2, X1, Y2-Z2, AA1, BB2-II2, KK2, LL1, MM2-UU2, XX2-ZZ2, 3A2-3I2, 3K2-3N2, 3O1, 3P2-3U2
Note: on the second leaf of signature O, it’s labeled thus: *O2. The first leaf of P is likewise *P, and the letters are smaller than other signature marks (possibly lower case too). PP’s second leaf is labeled PP2. QQ’s is labeled *QQ2. 3U actually might have three leaves, because after the second leaf of 3U there’s an explanation of the plates of details that is unsigned. Perhaps it was printed with the prelims? Which aren’t signed either? That’s a thought. **Images are unsigned.
Notes: Book plate on front pastedown: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos. Also a small bookbinder plate in corner of front pastedown: Edmund Worrall, Bookbinder, Birmingham. There’s an interesting Note to the Binder which suggests that this text was originally sold unbound? Or sent to the bindery with that note. Unclear. Included with this volume are a couple of typed notes dated from 1950 and 1955 about dates of publication, as well as a pamphlet: Some notes on four primary reference works for lepidoptera—by F. Martin Brown, Colorado Springs, Colorado.
Contents: Containing the Families Papilionidæ, pieridæ, ageronidæ, danaidæ, heliconidæ, acræidæ, and part of the nymphalidæ—by Edward Doubleday.
2b. Thomas Rare: QL 542 .D68 1846 Folio v. 2
Title: The Genera of Diurnal Lepidoptera : Comprising Their Generic Characters, A Notice of Their Habits and Transformations, and a Catalogue of the Species of Each Genus. In Two Volumes. Volume II.
Author: Edward Doubleday, F.L.S. F.Z.S. and John O. Westwood, F.L.S.
Edward Doubleday, F.L.S. F.Z.S., 1811-1849 and John Obadiah Westwood, F.L.S., 1805-1893
Publication Date: 1850-1852
Publication Location: London, England
Publisher: Longman, Brown, Green, and Longman’s
Print Date: Unknown
Print Location: London, England
Printer: Spottiswoodes and Shaw
Illustrator: Illustrated with eighty-six plates by William C. Hewitson, author of “British [Z?]oology,” etc.
William Chapman Hewitson, 1806-1878
Language: English
Subject: Diurnal lepidoptera
Type: Nonfiction; Scientific; Zoological; Encyclopedic?
Size: 38.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Bound in light green cloth with tan cloth? spine. Spine has a red label with title “The Genera of Diurnal Lepidoptera” on it in gold, as well as larger gold “Vol. II” and some gilt double-rules. Spine has been taped to the rest of the binding with white tape, and text block is a little loose, although not detached anywhere. Minor fraying of front hinge. Includes hand-painted? color plates of lepidoptera genera at the back, following the text.
Pagination: 284 pages [251-534]: pagination picks up where volume 1 left off.
284 pages: 251-528: text; 529-534: additions and corrections; [unnumb.]: plates
Also, pages 477 and 487 are switched, which messes with the collation a bit too. See below.
Collation: Picks up where volume 1 left off.
2°: 3X2-4I2, 4K2-4U2, 4X2-5I2, 5K2-5U2, 5X2-6I2, 6K2-6U2, 6X2-6Y2
This is the corrected collation. In reality, with pages 477 and 487 switched, the signatures look like this, on consecutive leaves: 6H, 6L (487), 6I, blank, 6K, blank, blank (477), blank. Then the correct collation starts again with 6M.
Notes: Book plate on front pastedown: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos. Also a small bookbinder plate in corner of front pastedown: Edmund Worrall, Bookbinder, Birmingham. Although the title page says the resource contains eighty six plates, the last one in volume 2 is hand-numbered 81 [originally unnumbered, filled in with pencil]. Whether there are missing plates or the numbering’s off is unclear. This volume also includes a typed note dated from 1955 explaining dates of publication for the two volumes.
Contents: Containing the remainder of the family nymphalidæ, and the families morphidæ, brassolidæ, satyridæ, libytheidæ, erycinidæ, and hesperidæ; with a supplement—by John O. Westwood.
3. Thomas Rare: QL 543 .E45 1975
Title: Butterflies : Their World, Their Life Cycle, Their Behavior
Author (Text): Thomas C. Emmel, 1941-
Image Editors: Milton Rugoff and Susan Rayfield
Consulting Editor: Edward S. Ross
Photographers: Edward S. Ross, Larry West, E.R. Degginger, Thomas C. Emmel, Boyce A. Drummond III, Othmar Danesch, Keith M. Spencer, D.F. Owen, Robert Goodden, Thomas W. Davies, Maria Zorn, Kjell B. Sandved, Keith S. Brown Jr., James H. Carmichael Jr. H. Vannoy Davis, Hermann Eisenbeiss, et al
Publication/Print Date: 1975
Publication Location: New York, NY
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Language: English
Subject: Butterflies; Life cycle of butterflies
Type: Nonfiction
Size: 31.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Glossy paper dust jacket with image of blue butterfly on front, along with short title (Butterflies) and author (Thomas C. Emmel) at top in white (Same on back plus ISBN number). Spine: short title, author and publisher (Alfred A. Knopf) and logo of running dog. Inner jacket, front:summary and publisher info/back: summary continued, author bio and printing information. Bound in black cloth. Includes numerous color photographs and images of butterfly metamorphic stages and attributes, as well as grayscale images of locales and butterflies. Matte paper and glossy photos.
Pagination: 246 pages: [unnumbered]: contents, foreword, The Fascination of Butterflies; [21]-[246]: text; [unnumbered]: Characteristics of the Butterfly Families, glossary, bibliography, index, credits
Collation: None. Roughly the size of a quarto.
Notes: Book plate on front pastedown: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos.
Contents: Part One—Life History of the Butterfly—Butterfly Behavior—The Families of Butterflies//Part Two—Butterflies of the Rain Forest—Butterflies of the Desert—Butterflies of the Temperate Forest and Grassland—Butterflies of the Mountains and Tundra—Butterflies of the Oceanic Islands//Part Three—Butterflies and Man—How to Collect Butterflies—How to Photograph Butterflies—Glossary—Bibliography--Index
4. Thomas Rare: QL 556 .J36 Y64 1955
Title: 原色日本蝶類図鑑 (Genshoku Nihon chō-rui zukan)
Translated Title: Coloured Illustrations of the Butter-flies of Japan
Author: Mitsuo Yokoyama. Revised by Teiso Esaki
Publication Date: 1955
Publication Location: Osaka, Japan
Publisher: Hoikusha
Illustrator/Photographer:
Language: Japanese
Subject: Butterflies of Japan
Type: Nonfiction
Size: 21.5 cm (22 with box)
Other Physical Descriptions: Includes both a box and a dust jacket. Box: tan, with title, author and publisher information on front and back and pricing info on back. Image of butterfly on each side. Spine has number 1, title, publication date and author information on paper label added later, as well as on box itself. Dust jacket: background is monochrome image of butterfly on leaves, overlaid with title, author and publisher info on front as well as an image of a butterfly. Bound in grey/green cloth with silver title, author and publication info and an image of a butterfly on front cover. Decorative blue endpapers front and back, and sepia image of butterflies on title page. Includes color plates with images of butterflies.
Pagination: 136 pages: [unnumb.]: 序 (introduction), 慨説 (general statement), 用語の解説 (glossary), title page; 1-74: text; 75-125:蝶類生態ー覧表(Table of Butterfly Characteristics); 126: publication notice?; 127-136: 学名索引 (index of scientific names)
Collation: None. Best guess: octavo.
Notes: Book plate on front pastedown: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos. Includes some information on loose sheets, including what look like a catalog card, an order form, and a pamphlet with information about the author.
5. Thomas Rare: QL 543 .C53 1759
Title: Icones Insectorum Rariorum: Cum Nominibus eorum trivialibus, locisque E
Translated Title: Images of rare insects: with their species names and places
Author: Caroli Clerck, Reg. Soc. Scient. Upsal. Membr.
Translated Author: Carl Clerck, 1710-1765
Publication Date: 1759-1764
Publication Location: Holmiæ (Stockholm, Sweden)
Publisher: Unknown
Print Date: 1759
Print Location: Holmiæ ?
Printer: N. von Oelreich (Nils von Oelreich)?
Illustrator: Unknown
Language: Danish (Swedish?)
Subject: Butterflies; images of butterflies
Type: nonfiction
Size: 29.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: This book has been rebound in modern red leather? Boards with a deeply stamped short title and butterfly illustration on its front cover along with a multi-line vertical thread on left and right of both the front and back covers. The spine design echoes this vertical rule and includes a black label with the short title in gold. This book combines two volumes in one, with two frontispieces and 62 plates (58 color) showing butterfly species. Both frontispieces include elaborate woodcut illustrations. All plates are one-sided. Each volume includes a preface by Clerck addressed to the Queen.
Pagination: 67 unnumbered leaves: Stormægtigsta Allernaadigsta Drottning, imprimatur, B.L.; plates; second title page and frontispiece; plates; register; last plates
Collation: No collation marks, but the inventory file for this book calls it a quarto.
Notes: Two book plates on front pastedown: Ex Libris Cyril Franklin Dos Passos; and the second a logo for a Stockholm company (stamp is difficult to read). The first frontispiece includes a small inscription (from the frontispiece designer/printer?): L Gottman del. C. Bergqviʃt Sculpʃit: First Frontispiece: C. Linnæi arch. R. et. Equ. Aur. Syst. Nat. allegatis; Second Frontispiece: Nob. Equ. Linnæi Syʃtemate Naturali Adjectis. A paper in the inventory file reads: “Distributed by the Queen of Sweden in the form of presentation copies only.”
Contents: Sectio Prima--Stormægtigsta Allernaadigsta Drottning—[B.L.]—Plates 1-16—Sectio Secunda—Plates 17-55—Register—Plates 56-62
Translated Contents: Part One—Most Powerful and Gracious Queen (an address from Clerck)—B.L.—Plates 1-16—Part Two—Plates 17-55—Register—Plates 56-62