The Bible Collection is a mass of rare or special Bibles and Bible commentaries. These volume's publishing dates range across over 500 years. Below is a sampling of 10 volumes from the Bible collection. Some of the items in the Bible collection also overlap into the Luther Reformation Collection. This collection is large and diverse, browsing in the Wittenberg search engine is a great place to start!
The Bible Collection has been donated and purchased for Wittenberg's Special Collection and Archives for decades. It continues to grow today.
Creator
Wittenberg University Special Collections and Archives
Access Restrictions
This collection is open for research. Contact Suzanne Smailes for more information
"Bible Printed in 1478 is Oldest in Library." The Wittenberg Torch. 68, no. 10 (Dec. 11, 1931): 1. (Can view in archives)
Browse OPAL search engine for more in the Bible Collection, https://cat.opal-libraries.org/search/X
Metadata for Selected Images (2021)
1. Koberger Bible 1478
Title: [Bible Latina]
Publication Date: 1478
Publication Location: Nuremburg
Printer: Anthony Koberger of Nuremburg
Language: Latin
Subject: Bible
Type: Bible
Pagination: [468 p.]
Provenance: "Gift of the Rev. Dr. Jeremiah Zimmerman, D.D., LL.D., L.H.D., of Syracuse, N.Y."
Notes: Rebound in the 20th century. Original boards in archive and shown above. Weighs 18 lbs.
2. Geneva Bible 1597
Title: [The Bible: Translated according to the Ebrew and Greeke...]
Author:--
Publication Date: 1597
Publication Location: [London]
Printer: [By the Deputies of Christopher Barker, Printer to the Queens]
Language: English
Subject: Bible
Type: Bible
Notes: Rebound in the 20th century, missing first few pages and cut edges due to rebounding.
3. Friedrich Balduin Commentary 1664
Title: Commentarius In Omnes Epistolas Beati Apostoli Pauli ... : In Qvo Præter Analysin, Explicationem & Paraphrasin Textus, multiplices Commonefactiones ex Textu eruuntur, Tum Variis Qvæstionibus Controversis Fundamenta Sanæ Doctrinæ monstrantur, iisq[ue] inprimis, quæ Pererius, Pareus, Stevartius aliiq[ue] Disputationibus, Commentariis in has Epistolas ... respondetur ; Cum Textu Græco-Latino, Et Indicibus Prioribus omnibus, Quæstionum, Scripturæ dictorum, & Rerum ; Quibus accessit Summa Universæ Theologiæ Ejusdem Præcognita Summaria & Repertoria ordine referens, Ita, ut simul repetatur Index Balduinianus Generalis ... Auctore Johannes Oleario, D.
Translated Title: A Commentary on All the Letters of the Blessed Apostle Paul ... : In Which Besides the Analysis, Explanation and Paraphrase of the Text, Multiple Commonefactions are Evaluated from the Text and it is answered by the disputations, and by the commentaries on these Epistles... With the Greek-Latin Texts, and the Indexes to all the Priors, Questions, and Writings of the Words and Things; To which were added the Summa of the Universal Theology of the same Precognised Summaries and Repertories in order, so that the Index of Balduinian General...
Author: Balduin, Friedrich 1575-1627
Publication Date: 1664
Publication Location: Unknown
Printer: Balthasar Christopher Wvstii
Language: Latin
Subject: Bible. New Testament-- Commentaries
Type: Commentary
Size: 25 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Balduin on spine
Pagination: 1652 and 510p.
Provenance: Berkenmeyer Collection
4. Novum Jesu Christi Testamentum 1604
Title: Novum Jesv Christi Testamentum : Græcè & Latinè / Theodoro Beza interprete ; additæ sunt ab eodem summæ breues doctrinæ vnoquoque euangeliorum & actorum loco comprehensæ ; item, methodi apostolicarum epistolarum breuis explicatio
Translated Title: New Testament of Jesus Christ: Greek & Latin / Theodoro Beza interpret, There were added by the same brief summary of the doctrines of the Gospels and Acts included in each place; likewise, a brief explanation of the method of the apostolic epistles
Shortened Translated Title: New Testament of Jesus Christ
Author:--
Publication Date: 1604
Publication Location: [Geneva]
Printer: [H. Estienne]
Language: Latin, Greek
Subject: Bible. New Testament-- Commentaries
Type: Bible
Size: 19 cm
Other Physical Descriptions:
Pagination: 210 leaves
Notes: “Text in Greek and Latin in parallel columns; marginal notes and references in Latin, Printer's device of H. Estienne, Woodcuts: head and tail pieces; initials"
5. Bugenhagen interpretation of the Psalms 1524
Title: Ioannis Pomerani Bugenhagii in librum psalmorum interpretatio : Wittembergae, publice lecta
Translated Title: The interpretation of the Psalms by Johann Bugenhagen: Wittenberg, read publicly
Author: Bugenhagen, Johann 1485-1558
Publication Date: 1524
Publication Location: Basileae
Printer: Mense Martio
Language: Latin
Subject: Psalms, Commentary
Type: Bible
Size: 22 cm
Other Physical Descriptions:
Pagination: 762 p.
Notes: "Title within ornamental border"
7. Luther Commentary 1635
Title: A commentarie of Master Doctor Martin Luther upon the Epistle of S. Paul to the Galatians : first collected and gathered word by word out of his preaching, and now out of Latine faithfully translated into English for the unlearned ...
Author: Luther, Martin 1483-1546
Publication Date: 1635
Publication Location: London
Printer: George Miller, dwelling in the Black-Fryers
Language: English
Subject: Bible, New Testament-- Commentaries
Type: Commentary
Size: 19 cm
Other Physical Descriptions:
Pagination: 318 p.
Notes: "Title vignette (printer's device), Bound with: A commentarie upon the XV Psalmes, called Psalmi graduum, that is, Psalmes of degrees (1637). Spine title: Luther on Galathians, etc."
8. Luther Commentary 1644
Title: A commentarie of Master Doctor Martin Luther upon the epistle of S. Paul to the Galathians : first collected and gathered word by word out of his preaching and now out of Latine faithfully translated into English for the unlearned : wherein is set forth most excellently the glorious riches of Gods grace and the power of the Gospell ...
Author: Luther, Martin 1483-1546
Publication Date: 1644
Publication Location: London
Printer: George Miller, dwelling in the Black-Fryers
Language: English
Subject: Bible, New Testament-- Commentaries
Type: Commentary
Size: 19 cm
Other Physical Descriptions:
Pagination: 592 p.
Notes: "Spine title: Luther on the Galatians."
9. Braille Bible Volume 1 1923
Title: The Holy Bible. King James : Containing the Old and New Testaments ; translated from the original tongues with the former translations diligently compared and revised
Author: --
Publication Date: 1923
Publication Location: Los Angeles, CA
Publisher: Braille Institute of America Inc.
Language: English
Subject: Bible
Type: Bible
Size: 30 cm
Notes: ""Embossed in Twenty-One Volumes Grade one and a half"
10. D1555-1
Title: Biblia, das ist : Die gantze Heilige Schrifft : Deudsch / D. Mart. Luth
Translated Title: Biblia, that is: All the Holy Scriptures: German / D. Mart. Luth
Author: --
Publication Date: 1555
Publication Location: Wittemberg (Wittenberg)
Printer: Gedruckt durch Hans Lufft
Language: German
Subject: Bible
Type: Bible
Size: 30 cm
Notes: 2 volumes in 1.
“Luther’s first complete Bible was published in 1534. Luther’s direct translation from the Hebrew and Greek into vernacular German was highly significant both in terms of bringing the Scriptures directly to lay people and in codification of the German language.”-Display card