The Luther-Reformation collection comprises books and pamphlets written by Martin Luther and his contemporaries and printed between 1518 (the year after the 95 theses were posted) and 1581 (the date of our earliest Book of Concord). There are 253 items in all, not including titles bound with others. Also in the collection are 23 Kirchenordnungen and three autograph letters, one of which is an undated letter from Luther to Philip Gluenspies regarding eating meat, and Kirchenordnungen.
Volumes are arranged on the shelves according to size: A, B, C, D (smaller to larger), with K (Kirchenordnungen) and L (letters) in separate sequence. The Kirchenordnungen are shelved in the Luther Reformation collection room, but the autograph letters are all located in the safe. Call numbers consist of size letter, date of publication, and accession number For instance B 1520-3 indicates size B, publication date of 1520, third in acquisition. Publications lacking a date, delineated by n.d., are arranged at the beginning of the proper size letter (e.g. B n.d.-3). The number of each of the classifications is as follows:
A 30
B 40
C 134
D 23
K 23
L 3
= 253
Kirchenordnung is a term used in the Reformation age to denote orders governing the inner life of the church which, as a rule, rules and regulations concerning the ministry (e.g. preaching and disciplinary procedures) as well as worship, church property, education, and marriage matters. The number of territories and municipalities existing in Germany being very large, the number of “church orders” is correspondingly large. Those reflecting the ideas of Bugenhagen and Bucy are especially important. The twenty three Kirchenordnungen in Wittenberg’s collection range in date from 1528 to 1824.
Early editions of Luther’s collected works beginning with the 1551 Wittenberg edition are not part of the Luther-Reformation Collection, but rather part of the collection of sets of his collected works. Later editions, facsimiles, and later Reformation materials are to be found in other groupings in the library.
The Luther Reformation Collection has been donated from multiple generous donators over Wittenberg's history.
Creator
Wittenberg University Special Collections and Archives
Access Restrictions
This collection is open for research. Contact Suzanne Smailes for more information
This collection holds 253 items, letters, pamphlets, books and more. There is a specific series on Kirchenordnung (Series K) which range in date from 1528 to 1824. Series A through D range in date from 1518 to 1581. The three letters in Series L are from 1520 or 1526. They discuss topics from the Reformation to politics.
Extent: 253 items
Harline, Craig. A world ablaze : the rise of Martin Luther and the birth of the Reformation. New York: Oxford University Press, 2017. OPAL Record Link
Marshall, Peter. 1517 : Martin Luther and the invention of the Reformation. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2017. OPAL Record Link
Whitford, David M., ed. Martin Luther in context. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2018. OPAL Record Link
"WU gets 16th Century Letters." Torch. XLV, no. 12. (Dec. 4, 1964,) 1. (Can see in archives)
-Link to PDF with Luther's Collected works with brief note on collection
Metadata for Gallery Above Completed by Megan Bobb in 2015:
1. A 1566-1
Title: Clarissimo Viro, Virtvte, Ervditione ac Prvdentia Praestanti D. Franciʃco Moʃʃeltino Iurium Licentiato, ac Reuerendiβimi Epiʃcopi Hildensheimenʃis, &c. Cancellario, Domino & amico ʃuo, Simon Schardius D. S.P.D. (Title from first speech)
Reformatted Title: Clarissimo viro, virtute, erudition ac prudential praestanti D. Francisco Mosseltino iurium licentiate, ac Reverendissimi Episcopi Hildensheimensis, &c. Cancellario, Domino & amico suo, Simon Schardius D. S.P.D.
Translated Title: Discharged by eminent men of virtue, learning and surpassing prudence D. Francisco Mosseltino, and Reverend Bishop Hildensheimensis, Lord Chancellor, and his friend Simon Schardius D. S.P.D.
Author: --
Publication Date: 1566 (Sept. 8, 1566 noted at end of “Nvncvpatoria.” “nuncupatory” means “(of a will) declared orally by the testator and later written down”)
Publication Location: Francoforti ad Moenum (Frankfurt and London?)
Publisher: --
Language: Latin
Subject: Funeral Speeches; Speeches
Type: Speech; Oration
Size: 16 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Original vellum soft cover has been water-damaged and the book block has been singed.
Pagination: 312 leaves: Leaves, rather than pages, are numbered consecutively; so that the two pages of each leaf share one number.
Collation: 8°: 27-T8, V8, X8-Z8, a8-i8, k8-q5
Signature 2 begins at 2 2 (second leaf) and encompasses preliminaries. Leaves 2 2 through 2 5 are signed, and there are three unsigned leaves, for a total of 14 unnumbered pages.
After signature q, there are four extra leaves.
Notes: This book’s title page is missing. There is a Zimmerman Library book plate on the front pastedown, and underlining throughout the text. Learn more about “Reverendissimi Episcopi Hildensheimensis” at Wikipedia’s Roman Catholic Diocese of Hildesheim and List of Bishops of Hildesheim entries.
2. C 1519-2
Title: Ein Kurtze underweyʃung wie man bychte ʃol: gezogen ufz der wolmeinug Martini Luther
Reformatted Title: Ein kurtze underweysung wie man bychte sol: Gezogen ufz der wolmeinug Martini Luther.
Translated Title: A short instruction on how one should confess: Drawn from Martin Luther’s well-meaning opinion.
Author: Luther, Martin 1483-1546.
Publication Date: 1519
Publication Location: Basel, Switzerland
Publisher: Adam Petri of Langendorf
Language: German
Subject: Confession; Religious ritual
Type: Doctrinal work
Size: 21.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: This book’s cover boards have original leaves from an old Latin work. It has a decorative woodcut border on its title page and two ornamental letters in-text, and has been rebound, probably sometime in 20th century. This book has very interesting water marks. Check on OAW’s Briquet Online and the Thomas L. Gravell Watermark Archive to find them.
Pagination: Six leaves, 12 pages (including title page), all unnumbered.
Collation: 4°: Aa4? 2°: Aa6?
Notes: From the libraries of H.V. Jones and C.W. Clark. Bookplates on front and back pastedowns. “In 1519, encouraged by the humanist Georg Spalatin, Luther wrote a new form for confession in Latin. The German edition appeared the following year.” Smithey.
Publication Note on Title Page: Gedzuckt zu Baʃel durch Adam Petri / als man zalt. M.D. und xix.
3. C 1520-2
Title: Condemnatio Doctrinalis libroru fratris Martini Luther per quoʃda Magiʃtros noʃtros Louanien. Et Colonien. Facta. Reʃponʃio Lutheriana ad eande condemnationem.
Reformatted Title: Condemnatio doctrinalis libroru fratris Martini Luther per quosda magistros nostros Lovanien. Et Colonien. Facta. Responsio Lutheriana ad eande condemnationem.
Translated Title: A condemnation of the doctrinal books of Brother Martin Luther done by the faculties of Louvain and Cologne. With a response by Luther to each condemnation.
Author: Not identified
Publication Date: 1520
Publication Location: [Wittenberg] (Wittenberge noted on leaf 14)
Publisher: --
Language: Latin and German
Subject: Luther’s doctrine
Type: Disputation
Size: 20 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Vellum or parchment, red and brown/black lettering, decorative red lettering. Rebound, probably in 20th century; margins trimmed in rebinding, so some margin notes are lost. Some red underlining and rubrication.
Pagination: 24 leaves, 48 pages (including title pages). Originally unnumbered, leaves numbered later in pencil.
Notes: Manuscript – handwritten version of Louvain and Cologne faculties’ disputation with Luther’s doctrine, with Luther’s responses included. Other notes in margins.
Contents: Four Parts
4. BX 8067 A2 1564 / K 1564
Title: Kirchenordnung: Wie es mit Chriʃtlicher lere/ reichung der sacrament /ordination der diener des Evangelij/Ordentlichen Ceremonien/Viʃitation/Conʃiʃtorio und schulen/im Hertzogthumb Lunenburg gehalten wird.
Reformatted Title: Kirchenordnung: Wie es mit Christlicher lere/reichung der sacrament/ordination der diener des Evangelij/ordentlichen ceremonien/visitation/consistorio und schulen/im Hertzogthumb Lunenburg gehalten wird.
Translated Title: Church Order: how Christian instruction / administration of the Sacrament / ordination of ministers of the gospel / well-ordered ceremonies / visitation / consistories and schools / are to be conducted in the Duchy of Lüneburg.
Author: Unknown
Publication Date: 1564
Publication Location: Wittemberg
Publisher/Printer: Georgen Rhawen
Language: German
Subject: Church order
Type: Church order
Size: 19 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Bound in cardboard boards with black leather covers. Title pages bear coats of arms in woodcut. Some decorated capitals, many printer’s devices (colophons?), and extensive underlining and marginalia, including several full pages of handwritten German notes on the rear endpapers that appear to include a prayer, a homily and a service of some kind. Two leaves have been repaired.
Pagination: [Kirchenordnung, 91 leaves, 182 pages (including title page leaf), hand-numbering of leaves rather than pages] [Unser von Gottes Gnaden, 59 leaves, 118 pages (including title page leaf), all unnumbered] [Reformation und Ordnung, 40 leaves, 80 pages (including title page leaf), all unnumbered]
Collation: [Kirchenordnung, 4°: A4-Aa3 (4?)] [Unser von Gottes Gnaden, 4°: A4-P4] [Reformation und Ordnung, 4°: A4-K4]
Notes: Includes some music.
Contents: Kirchenordnung: Wie es mit Chriʃtlicher lere/ reichung der sacrament /ordination der diener des Evangelij/Ordentlichen Ceremonien/Viʃitation/Conʃiʃtorio und schulen/im Hertzogthumb Lunenburg gehalten wird.—Unser von Gottes gnaden heinrichen vnd Wilhelmen der Jüngern/Gebrüder/Hertzogen zu Braunʃchweig vnd Lünenburg Hoffgerichts Ordnung/Wie es vor demʃelbigen/auch ʃunʃt vor den Undergerichten in unʃerem furʃtenthumb Lunenburg/mit proceʃs und ʃunʃt/ʃolle gehalten werden.—Reformation und ordnung unser von Gottes gnaden heinrichen vnd Wilhelmen der Jüngern Gebrüdern/ Hertzogen zu Braunʃchweig vnd Lünenburg/ʃo wir in etlichen gemeinen ʃachen vnʃern Unterhanen zu wolfart vnd gutem haben gemacht/Anno 1564.
Reformatted Contents: Kirchenordnung: Wie es mit Christlicher lere/reichung der sacrament/ordination der diener des Evangelij/ordentlichen ceremonien/visitation/consistorio und schulen/im Hertzogthumb Lunenburg gehalten wird.—Unser von Gottes gnaden Heinrichen und Wilhelmen der Jüngern/Gebrüder/Hertzogen zu Braunschweig und Lünenburg Hoffgerichts Ordnung/Wie es vor demselbigen/auch sunst vor den Undergerichten in unserem furstenthumb Lunenburg/mit process und sunst/solle gehalten werden.-- Reformation und ordnung unser von Gottes gnaden Heinrichen und Wilhelmen der Jüngern Gebrüdern/ Hertzogen zu Braunschweig und Lünenburg/so wir in etlichen gemeinen sachen unsern Unterhanen zu wolfart und gutem haben gemacht/Anno 1564.
5. D 1531-1
Title: Auslegung der epiʃteln vnd euangelien vom Aduent an/bis auff Oʃtern. Anderweyt Corrigirt durch Mart. Luther. Auffs newe vberʃehen/vnd mit ʃchonen lieblichen figuren geʃchmuckt/auch mit eim vleiʃʃigen newen regiʃter odder Summen/alles des/was ynn dieʃen Poʃtillen gehandelt/gebeʃʃert. Aller text nach der newen dolmerzʃchung geendert.
Reformatted Title: Auslegung der episteln und evangelien vom Adventan/bis auff Ostern. Anderweyt corrigirt durch Mart. Luther. Auffs newe ubersehen/und mit schonen lieblichen figuren geschmuckt/auch mit eim vleissigen newen register odder summen/alles des/was ynn diesen Postillen gehandelt/gebessert. Aller text nach der newen dolmerzschung geendert.
Translated Title: Exegesis of Epistles and Gospels from Advent until Easter. Elsewhere revised by Martin Luther. Newly examined and ornamented with lovely beautiful figures. Also with a meticulous new index or summary of everything that is addressed/improved in these homilies. All text revised according to the new interpretation.
Author: Luther, Martin 1483-1546.
Publication Date: 1531 (colophon)
Publication Location: Magdeburg (colophon)
Publisher: --
Printer: Michael Lotther (Colophon)
Illustrator: Hans Brosamer
Language: German
Subject: Epistles and Gospels, commentary. Luther’s take.
Type: Commentary
Size: 30 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Original embossed pigskin has been superimposed with newer leather. Brass bosses on front and back covers; clasps missing. Ornamental illustration on title page, numerous color ornamental capitals, and 25 half-page woodcut color illustrations throughout text. Some leaves stained, some repaired. Title page and some of endpages have separated from binding.
Pagination: Same as with Biblia Das Ist: only consecutive leaves numbered. 358 leaves, 716 pages, page numbers only reach 358.
Collation: 2°: A6-OOo6
6. Martin Luther Letter
Title: On Catholic Doctrine on Abstention from Meat
Transcriber: Unknown
Translator: Unknown
Author: Martin Luther (A.L.S.?), 1483-1546
Recipient: Philip Gluenspies
Date Written: 1526
Language: German
Subject: Catholic and Protestant doctrine
Type: epistolary
Size: 21 cm (in sleeve)
Other Physical Descriptions: This 1.5 page latter from Martin Luther to Philip Gluenspies is housed, along with supplementary materials, in a green-bound portfolio book in a similarly bound folder (with attached silver claw clasp closures), with a black label with author, title and “Dr. Max Thorek Collection” in gold. The letter itself has suffered some staining and wear. Among the supplementary materials are a transcript and translation, a facsimile transcript taken from a published collection of Luther letters (a photocopy of the title page of which is also included), articles about the Hanleys’ donation to Wittenberg University and about Martin Luther himself, and portraits of Martin Luther.
Pagination: 1.5 pages
Notes: Donated by Mr. and Mrs. Stanley M. Hanley.
7. L 1520-1
Title: George Spalatin to the Honorable Jodocus Jonas, Doctor of Theology and Provost of the All Saints’ Chapter at Wittenberg, his Patron and Friend
Transcript Note: George Spalatin was appointed Librarian to Elector Frederic III, the Wise, of Saxony in 1512. His letter to Dr. Jodocus Jonas was given to Wittenberg University by Dr. and Mrs. Stanley Hanley of Columbus, Ohio. The letter is part of the collection of Reformation materials.
Transcriber: Unknown
Author: George Spalatin, 1484-1545
Recipient: Jodocus Jonas
Date Written: November 20, 1521
Language: Latin
Subject: Wittenberg; Reformation
Type: Epistolary
Size: 34 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: This letter, written in ink on paper, is in very good shape for being almost 500 years old. On the back is the address used for the title above. Some signs of wear and water damage, (some rust), but still in incredibly good shape. Also included are a facsimile transcript and a photocopy of the letter itself.
Pagination: 1 page
Notes: Transcript included. Donated by Mr. and Mrs. Stanley M. Hanley.
8. 15th Century Breviary
Title: O Glorious Jesu
Author: Unknown
Date Written: circa 1450 (mid-15th century)
Illuminator: Unknown
Language: English/Latin
Subject: Catholic Mass; Religious exercises
Type: Personal devotional book
Size: 17.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: This manuscript is bound in brown leather with a braided leather and brass clasp closure. Looks like there might have been another more elaborate closure once which broke and was repaired with the braided leather one. There appears to be the same diamond and rectangle stamped design on both front and back covers, but the binding is discolored and worn. The text is hand-written and hand-illuminated on parchment or vellum. Includes some red/blue letters as well as illuminated decorative letters. Margins have been marked off in order for the author to write in straight lines in a certain sized block.
Pagination: 78 leaves, 152 [unnumbered] pages
Notes: There are some faded inscriptions on the front pastedown. The first is the most legible: The gift of [unreadable] John Hughes of Shelton on the [unreadable] in the county of Warwick to Joseph Greene master of the Free-[unreadable] of Stratford on Avon in the[unreadable] county [August] 24th 1767. The inventory file includes a partial translation of the dedicatory poem that appears at the beginning of this book. According to an examination of some photocopies in 1965 the book contains “parts of the April 24 Mass for the Crown of Thorns.”
Continued Metadata for Gallery Images (2021)
9. C1520-3
Title: Ein senderbrieffen den Bapst Leo den tzehenden D: Martinus Luther, ausz dem Latein infz deutsch vozwan-delt.
Translated Title: An Open Letter to Pope Leo X Changed from the Latin to German
Author: Doctor Martin Luther
Publication Date: 1520
Publication Location: Wittemberge
Publisher: --
Language: German
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546); Leo—X—Pope (1475-1521)
Type: Letter, Commentary, Pamphlet
Size: 21 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: The covers have been removed and the pamphlet has been placed in a protective book box.
Provenance: John Fleming in 1965
Notes: “First German edition of one of a series of attacks levelled against the papacy which culminated in the burning of the Papal Bull.”-Display card
The cover has a brief inscription in German.
10. C1520-8
Title: Bulla Contra Errores Martini Luther & sequacium: CVM Mandato Reuerendissimi domini Episcopi Eistetten.
Translated Title: Bull Against the errors of Martin Luther and his Followers
Author: Pope Leo X (1512-1521)
Publication Date: 1520
Publication Location: St. Peter’s, Rome
Printer: Visa R. Milanesius
Language: Latin
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546); Leo—X—Pope (1475-1521)
Type: Papal Bull
Size: 20 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Rebound, probably in the 20th century.
Pagination: 9 p.
Notes: “Also known as ‘Exsurge Domine’ (‘Arise, O Lord’), this papal bull was issued June 15, 1520 in which he condemned 41 articles taken from the works of Luther. It ordered all of Luther’s books to be burned; he was forbidden to preach, and under pain of excommunication he was ordered to recant within 60 days. He did not.”- Display card
11. C1521-3
Title: Passional Chrsiti und Antichristi
Translated Title: Passions of the Christ and Antichrist
Author: Martin Luther
Illustrator: Woodcuts designed by Lucas Cranach
Publication Date: [1521]
Publication Location: [Erfurt]
Printer:--
Language: German
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546); Leo—X—Pope (1475-1521)
Type: Illustrated Polemic
Size: 24 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Rebound, probably in the 19th century, with stiffened paper and kept in a book box. There are 31 large woodcuts attributed to Lucas Cranach. The woodcuts were almost certainly designed by Cranach, and engraved under Luther’s direction
Pagination: 40p.
Provenance: Gift of John Adams, Class of 1913
Notes: “This visual pamphlet starkly contrasts moments in Christ’s life to the Pope’s (the ‘Antichrist’). The quotations are from the Gospels or from canon law. Gift of John Adams, Class of 1913” – Display card
12. BX8069.A3 C5 1599
Title: Auszführlicher Bericht von der Augsburgischen Confession
Translated Title: Excerpts from the Augsburg Confession
Author: David Chytraeus
Publication Date: 1599
Publication Location: Leipzig
Printer: Henningi Grossen
Language: German
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546);
Type: Commentary
Size: 20 cm
Notes: “The Augsburg Confession has 28 articles that constitute the basic confession of the Lutheran church and was presented in 1530 at the Diet of Augsburg to Charles V by seven Lutheran princes and two imperial free cities. Catholic theologians countered with the publication of Confutatio Augustanaf (Augsburg Confutation)”- Display card
13. B1520-1
Title: De Captivitate Babylonica Ecclesiae Praeludium
Translated Title: Prelude On the Babylonian Captivity of the Church
Author: Martin Luther
Publication Date: 1520
Publication Location: [Basel]
Printer: [Adam Petri]
Language: Latin
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546);
Type: Commentary
Size: 21 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Rebound [rubbed goat skit] There is a full page woodcut of Martin Luther on the verso of the title page.
Pagination: 57 p.
Provenance: Gift of Stanley Hanley, Class of 1923
Notes: “The second of the three major treatises published by Luther in 1520 (after the Address to the Christian Nobility of the German Nation and before On the Freedom of a Christian. Luther examines the seven sacraments of the Catholic Church. He calls the Pope ‘The Antichrist’ for the first time in this work.”- Display card
Has an ownership stamp on the cover page. Stamp says “Ad Bibl. Acad. Land” used by the Universitatsbibliothek Munchen between 1800 and 1826.
14. D1581-1
Title: Concordia. Christliche, Winderholete/ einmuetige Bekentnues nachbenanter Churfuersten/ Fuersten und Stende Augspurgischer Congession/ und derselben zu ende des Buchs underschriebener Theologen Lerer und glaubens. Mit angehesster/ in Gottes wort/ als der einigen Richtschnur/ wolgegruendter erklerung etlicher Artickel/ bey disputation und streit vorgeffallen…
Translated Title: Book of Concordia The Christian, repeated, unanimous, acknowledgment (confession) of the afternamed Electors, Dukes, and Estates (Clergy) of the Augsburg Confession, and the same at the end of the book, Theologians of Doctrine and Faith. The Formula of Concord was first published 6/25/1580 on the 50th anniversary of the presentation for the Augsburg Confession. Written in mostly by Jacob Andreae, David Chrytraeus, and Martin Chemnitz to resolve differences.
Shortened Translated Title: Book of Concord
Author:--
Publication Date: 1581
Publication Location: Dresden
Printer: Matthes Stoeckel and Gimel Bergen
Language: German
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546);
Type: Church Documents
Size: 33 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Original pigskin used with modern half leather binding.
Pagination: 330 p.
Notes: “This is a first edition of the Book of Concord, published in German on the 50th anniversary of the presentation of the Augsburg Confession to Emperor Charles V at the Diet of Augsburg. It contains the creedal documents that defines the Lutheran Church.”-Display card
The page before the title page has a number of inscriptions from different hands. The top of the page has a lengthy inscription with the date March 10, 1822. This seems to have been crossed out with two large Xs overtop of the writing. The names Jacob and Daniel Bower are visible. Towards the bottom of the page is another inscription dated 1834 of 1839 with a signature of [“S.W. Harkey’s Book”]. There is another inscription on the back of this page. It is on a separate piece of paper that has been stuck to the top of the page. The final inscription is on the back of the title page, dated 1791 with a name and location.
15. A1549-1
Title: Betbüchlin/ mit dem Calender und Passional/ aufs new corrigiert und gemehret.
Translated Title: Prayer booklet / with the calendar and Passional / corrected and increased again
Author: Luther, Martin 1483-1546
Illustrator: [Cranach, Lucas]
Publication Date: 1549
Printer: Hans Lufft
Language: German
Subject: Reformation; Luther, Martin (1483-1546);
Type: Prayer Book
Size: 14.5 cm
Other Physical Descriptions: Original vellum, There are 42 small hand-colored wood cuts which appear on the verso of each leaf starting at 225 and also on the verso of leaf 14. Some capitals are decorated and hand colored. The title is surrounded by foliated borders, and some red coloring has been added. Some letters on the first few pages are printed in red.
Pagination: 227 leaves
Notes: The inside cover contains a stamp of ownership from the Valentine Museum in Richmond, Virginia. There are also signatures on the inside covers, the title page, and the endpages.