Marion Lewis Renick was born on March 3, 1904 in Springfield, Ohio. She lived on Woodlawn Avenue, which borders the Wittenberg campus. All her life, Marion had a great interest in Wittenberg especially its sports. She graduated from Springfield High School, where she was the first female school newspaper editor. Marion went on to college at Wittenberg and graduated in 1926 with an English major and education minor.
Marion met her husband James Renick while working at the Springfield News-Sun, where he was a sports writer. They were married in 1930 and moved to Detroit, where James worked for the Free Press. We have no written works of Marion’s from the 1930’s while she was living in Michigan. Marion and James later moved to Columbus, where James had the position of Ohio State University Athletic Director. We know that Marion worked for a printing company in Columbus before she began writing full time. Tommy Carries the Ball, was her first published book in 1940. The book was published jointly with Marion’s husband, James Renick, because the publishers believed that no one would ever take a sports book seriously if it was written by a woman. James and Marion never had any children. They were divorced in 1945.
Marion began writing full time to support herself. As a children's author, she published thirty-one books, primarily sports-related. Marion wanted her books to be instructive about the sport and fun to read. She was very fond of the library at Wittenberg and was also an excellent and thorough researcher. She always carefully researched a sports topic before writing about it. She wrote in an office at her home where she could look out the window and see children playing. She often used the names of neighborhood children in her books, and the children were fond of Marion.
Marion traveled to many schools and enjoyed giving talks about her books. Besides writing books, Marion also worked for My Weekly Reader as an editor from 1945-1951. She also worked for WOSU as a radio and television script writer and supervisor from 1951-1961. She remained active up to her final days and died of Lou Gehrig's disease on October 9, 1983, leaving her entire estate to Wittenberg University. She is buried at Ferncliff Cemetery.
The Renick Collection was bequeathed to Wittenberg University by Marion Renick upon her death in 1983. According to her will she left no restrictions on the use of this collection.
Creator
Marion Renick
Access Restrictions
This collection is open for research. Contact Suzanne Smailes for more information
The Renick Collection holds Marion Renick's correspondence, teenage diaries, scrapbooks, photographs, desk knickknacks, her radio and television scripts, speeches, all of her published and unpublished manuscripts, published books, the original illustrations, awards, and her writing research. Her research offers a unique look into her writing process and various sports during her lifetime. This collection touches on children's education and entertainment, Ohio history, women's history, Wittenberg history, sports history, and of course Renick herself.
Extent: 26 boxes
Books in Select Images Gallery Citations
Renick, James and Marion. Tommy Carries the Ball. Illustrated by Frederick Machetanz. New York : C. Scribner's Sons, 1940. (OPAL Record Link)
Renick, Marion. Bats & Gloves of Glory. Illustrated by Pru Herric. New York : C. Scribner's Sons, 1956. (OPAL Record Link)
Renick, Marion. Little Fish: Hard-to-Catch. Illustrated by Ted Schroeder. New York : L.W. Singer, 1969. (OPAL Record Link)
Wittenberg Alumni Magazine Articles
"The Wonderful Happy World of Marion Lewis Renick." Wittenberg Alumnus. 20, no. 5 (Sept/Oct 1968): 5-6. (Can view in archives)
Sittason, Becky Ann. "Archives Tell of Life of Marion Renick." Wittenberg Alumnus. 14, no. 3 (Feb/Mar 1988): 5. (Can view in archives)
1. Correspondence
-Correspondence to and from Marion Renick
Note: There is more correspondence accompanying diaries, manuscripts and working files.
2. Diaries
June 14, 1915-Nov. 11, 1918 (In gallery above)
Sept. 1916- 1920 (?)
Jan. 1, 1919- Dec. 31,1919
Jan. 1, 1920- Aug. 8, 1920
Aug. 9, 1920- March 13, 1921
Mar. 18, 1921- Nov. 22, 1921
Nov. 23, 1921- April 1, 1922
April 2, 1922- Oct. 9, 1922
Nov. 5, 1922- Dec. 30, 1923
Jan. 1, 1924-Dec. 31,1924
Jan. 1, 1925-Dec. 31, 1925 (In gallery above)
Jan. 1, 1926- June 22, 1926 (with one note from 1927)
3. Scrapbooks
World War I- Personal editorial and newspaper clippings
Springfield High School- 1918-1922
Wittenberg Education Class Notes
Wittenberg College- 1922-1926
1940-1970 (?) Begun not completed (two folders)
Headliner Nomination 1956- Professional portfolio
“This is Your Writing Life, Marion Renick”- 1970
4. Photographs
Ten photographs- each filed in a separate folder
Six folders of numerous photographs
Renick receiving awards
Renick and Citizen’s Journal award- photos by Herb Workman
Renick with neighborhood children (includes negatives)
Renick photographed by Rueppel
Renick- various photos: at school library, Lazarus poster, Theta Sigma Phi plaque and Citizen’s Journal with teapot
Renick working
5. Items from top of desk
Miniature straight pin box
Wooden carved cardinal
Miniature desk calendar 1983
Venetian paper weight
Two rocks
Box of personalized stationery
Small pin cushion
Ashtray with carved wooden dog
Small copper plate of Stadtmusikanten
Brass ring enscribed “veritas”
6. Radio Scripts (WOSU- Ohio School of the Air), and Speeches
Instructional material on script writing and public speaking
Newspaper of the Air- script and description of show
Newspaper of the Air- script on the North Atlantic Treaty Organization
Boys and Girls in Bookland (1942-1959)- These sripts were adapted from the original books and read on air by Marion Renick
Aladdin and the Wonderful Lamp
Alice and Wonderland
All Over Town
American Indian Fairy Tale
Bambi’s Children
The Boy Who Became King
Call it Courage
Captain
Christmas in Old California
Christmas Story
Circus Holiday
The Cowhide Trunk
The Elephant Child
Haensel and Gretel
Hitty
How They Followed the Golden Trail
Johnny Appleseed
The Juggler of Notre Dame
Knight of the Sea
Last Clash of Claymores
Leslie Come Home
A Matter of Brogues
Myth
The Odyssey
Oliver Twist
Panchita
Paul Bunyan Stories
Poetry
Princess Edith of Normandy
The Princess on the Glass Mountain
Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm
Robinson Crusoe
Saint George and the Dragon
The Shadow Bird Mystery
Sister in the Moon and The Dragon Princess
Steady
The Stolen Turnips
The Taming of the Shrew
Tanglewood Tales
Tom Sawyer
Tom Whipple
Treasure Island
Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea
The Winds, the Birds and the Telegraph Wires
The Wind and the Willows
The Young Forester
Young Fu
Poets Corner- poetry for boys and girls-scripts
Poets Corner- working file
Poets Corner- audio tape August 11, 1964
Speeches
Bookshelves Full of Blueprints
Chaucer’s Challenge to Computers
Elise Dinsmore and Brer Rabbit
Gentle Reader in Madison Avenue
Reading for Adults
7. Television Programs
1. The Book of King Arthur- adapted by Marion Renick for TOT productions
2. Once Upon a Time in Ohio
Milton Caniff- Comic Strip Office
Jesse Owens- Track Star
Marion Renick- Lady Sports Writer
The Soap Box Derby
3. Sport Studio- Renick books adapted as programs for National Educational Television
Bats and Gloves of Glory
The Dooleys Play Ball
Jimmy’s Own Basketball
John’s Backyard Camp
Pete’s Home Run
The Shining Shooter
Swimming Fever
Todd’s Snow Patrol
Young Mr. Football
8. Play
A Long Bright Shadow- about Ezra Keller, first president of Wittenberg University
Script Copy- not dated
1973- two copies
1976- with correspondence, and phot of E. Keller
1977
Working file of background information for play
9. Manuscripts
A. Unpublished Manuscripts
Big Day for a Little Dog
Blue Notes on a Mouth Organ- 1927
Boy at Bat and When the Rabbits Made Baseball Soup
Brave Pinch Hitter
Crazy Quilt of a Genial Idiot- 1928
Coach as Coach Can- three folders
The Comets at Camp
Cross on the Steeple
Dicey- also titled The Little Spunk Box
The Faraway Christmas
Gad About Box Car- includes background information and correspondence
Limping Lines and Pedestrian Poems- also titled Songs that Can Not Soar- adult prose
A Little Black Dog’s Big Day- also titled The Big Day of a Little Black Dog
A Long, Long Way form Peter Rabbit
Miscellaneous Short Pieces- 1922-1926
The Mystery of the Missing Dog- also titled The Barn the Felt Abused
Passionate Peejays in Purgatory- 1929
Saga of a Satirist
Saturday is for Football
Sweet Baseball
Swimming Pool Stories
Untitled church-related stories
Various adult writings from the 1920s
B. Published Manuscripts
Boy at Bat- handwritten rough draft with notes on illustrations
The Dooleys Play Ball
Famous Forward Pass
Football Boys
Heart for Baseball
Nicky’s Football Team
Ohio
Ohio Encyclopedia- carbon, worksheet, and rewrite
A Page from Ohio’s History- Springfield, News-Sun 9-21-1930
Rickey and the World of Sports- includes correspondence
Sam Discovers Soccer
Seven Simpsons on Six Bikes
Tail of the Terrible Tiger
Take a Long Jump- three files: manuscript, galley proof, and a master proof
Todd’s Snow Patrol
Tommy Carries the Ball
Watch those Red Wheels Roll- includes proof
10. Published Books
Box 1
Bats and Gloves of Glory- 2 copies (In gallery above)
The Big Basketball Prize- 2 copies
Blue Book- Roger the Crow- 2 copies
Boy at Bat- 2 copies
Boys and Girls- Almost on the Team- Sept. 1941, 2 issues
Box 2
Buckskin Scout and Other Ohio Stories
Champion Caddy- 2 copies
David Cheers the Team
The Dooley’s Play Ball- 2 copies
Box 3
The Famous Forward Pass- 2 copies
Five Points for Hockey- 2 copies
Football Boys- 2 copies
The Heart for Baseball- 2 copies
Box 4
Jimmy’s Own Basketball- 2 copies
John’s Backyard Camp
My Weekly Reader- Sept. 1945-June 1946 (located in illustration oversize box)
Nicky’s Football Team
Ohio 1776-1803- William Henry Harrison- 2 copies
Ohio- 2 copies
Box 5
Pete’s Home Run- 3 copies
Red Book- The Secret Halfback
Ricky and the World of Sport- 2 copies
Roger and the Crow- 2 copies
Sam Discovers Soccer- 2 copies
Story Parade- Tic Toc- June 1943
Story Parade- Arnold Asks for a Bike- Dec. 1952
Box 6
The Secret Halfback- 2 copies
Seven Simpsons on Six Bikes
The Shining Shooter- 2 copies
Skating Today
Steady- 2 copies
Box 7
Steve Marches with the General- 2 copies
Swimming Fever- 2 copies
Tail of the Terrible Tiger
Take a Long Jump- 2 copies
Box 8
Todd’s Snow Patrol
Tommy Carries the Ball (In gallery above)
A Touchdown for Doc
Watch those Red Wheels Roll- 2 copies
Young Mr. Football
11. Original Illustrations from Published Books (Oversize Box)
Twelve Illustrations filed in separate folders
Fourteen oversize illustrations are located in a newspaper box. Some are signed by illustrator, titled, and identified with a book
“Final Instructions” from Tommy Carries the Ball; signed (In gallery above)
“Guarding Stance”
Untitled (3 In gallery above)
Galley 14- “David Meeting Capt. Miller”
“Mike and Steady Planning the Future” (In gallery above)
“Foul Shot”
“Bounce Pass”
“Dribble Start”
“Fielding”
“Base Standing”
“The Big Game” from Tommy Carries the Ball, signed (In gallery above)
Galley 20- “Getting the Letter”
“Meeting Dick Harmon” from Tommy Carries the Ball, signed (In gallery above)
Mat only (no illustration attached)- “Goal Line to Go” from Tommy Carries the Ball, signed
12. Awards (Oversize Box)
Wittenberg University
1967 Alumni Association Citation
1970 Class of 1914 Award for Meritorious Service – two copies of certification, photo and letter (In gallery above)
1971 Honorary Doctor of Literature (In gallery above)
1976 Golden “W” Award for devoted interest in Wittenberg (In gallery above)
1982 Elderhostel Certificate
Clubs and Professional Organizations
1950 Boys Club of America- Junior Book Award for Shining Shooter
1951 Ohioan Library Award- Recognition for unique contribution to children’s books (In gallery above)
1956 Theta Sigma Phi- Headliner Award (In gallery above)
1965 Theta Sigma Phi- Distinguished Achievement Award (In gallery above)
1967 Phi Lambda Theta- Dedication to Professional growth of teachers
1967 Ohioan Library- Lifetime Membership
1968 Citizen’s Journal Outstanding Artist
1971 Ohioan Library Award- Best Non-Fiction for Youths
1974 Guest Lecturer- Capital University
1976 Ohio Extension Homemakers- Ohio Woman Award
1980 Meet the Author Luncheon- includes audio tape
1982 Central Ohio Radio Service- Recognition for five years of support
13. Working Files
Note: These files, which total about five linear feet, contain newspaper and magazine clippings used as a background information. Most of the files also contain handwritten or typed notes. The folder titles are as Ms. Renick assigned them
Box 1
About books- For Schools, Clubs, Teachers
Animals (5 folders)
Archeology
Atmosphere- Food, Nostalgics, People, Religion, Folklore (3 folders)
Baseball (2 folders)
Breaks- Football
Bits for characterizing action and story making
The Book
Children’s Theater
Citizens Journal Pictures
C-J Woman of the Year
Dialects and Speech Mannerisms
Faculty
Family life
Fan Mail
Figures of Speech- Epithets- Old Sayings
Fishing (2 folders)
Fishing- Photographs and notes
Football (5 folders)
Football Time in Columbus
Games
Golf Book
Box 2
Heroes and Cups
Heroes, Cups, Mascots, Champions, Sportsmanship
Holidays 1932-1950
Horses 1940s
Humor 1949-1967
Ideas and New Material for Talks
Juvenile
Juvenile 1956-1976
Juvenile A
Juvenile B
Juvenile II (4 folders)
Juvenile III
Juvenile- Atmosphere 1957-1972
Lacrosse
Love and Emotional…Pre-Game Fears
Me- Letters (6 folders)
Miscellaneous- 2 (note: Miscellaneous-1 not found)
Box 3
Miscellaneous- sports (3 folders)
Miscellaneous Talks
Miscellaneous Talks-2
Mysteries- Superstitions
Names
Ohio History
People (4 folders)
People II (3 folders)
Philosophies (see also Technique)
Play giving and Play writing
Publicity- M.R. (2 folders)
Reader Word List
Scrapbook
Situations and Gimmicks
Soap Box Derby
Speeches, Author and Misc.
More Author Speeches
Speeches for Teachers and Librarians
Speeches- Writer’s Groups- Techniques
Stories- Atlases- Ideas 1
Box 4
Stories- Atlases- Ideas 2
Talks for Kids in School
Talks on Ohio (book), correspondence and railroad information for S. Ward
Technique (2 folders)
Wittenberg
Writers and Would Be’s
Writers Conference at University of Iowa