Related links: Advanced Search | My Library Account | Databases A to Z | Journals | Research Guides
Here are a few databases that cover a wide variety of topics. They are great starting points when beginning your research paper.
Index to articles on a wide variety of topics, some available in full text.
A searchable, multi-disciplinary archive of full text journals.
Full-text of 11,000 top academic journals covering a wide variety of disciplines.
Wittenberg has access to around 200 databases. Sometimes it is better to use a subject specific database rather than a more general database. Go to Databases A - Z to see the entire list and browse by subject! If you aren't sure what database to use, please talk to a librarian.
Whether you are on or off- campus, you should log in to your account when using the library's search tools. This will ensure you get access to the full range of databases, will be able to save articles, and request OhioLINK materials.
To login, click "Sign in" on the top right of the screen, or in the yellow box under the search:
Journals the Library Has is a searchable database of the periodicals Wittenberg has access to. If you are off campus, you should look for a link at the top the reads "Sign in" and login with your Witt credentials.
If the journal you need isn't owned by or accessible electronically at Wittenberg, you will have to order the article through Inter-Library Loan (ILL). Fill out an ILL request online or in the library. It may take about 7 business days to get a copy of the article requested, so plan ahead! There is no fee for ILL. We will request the article from another library and email it to you when it is available.
