Refer students with questions about the following to the library:
Ask the librarians a question via the chat box or email form on this page.
I need to find books on my topic. Where do I start?
To find books on your topic, the best place to start is Wittenberg's online catalog on the Thomas Library homepage. The catalog contains records for all the books, CDs, videos, periodicals, and other items owned by Thomas Library. Your best bet is to start out with a keyword search on your topic.
I've looked in the online catalog and can't find what I need. What do I do now?
Wittenberg is a member of OhioLINK which allows us to search and borrow items from academic libraries all over the state. You can search the OhioLINK Central Catalog, which is also linked on our homepage under the main search box. You can borrow books, videos, and other materials through OhioLINK. If what you need isn't at Wittenberg or in OhioLINK, ask a librarian about interlibrary loan and SearchOhio.
Where do I find articles on my topic?
Thomas Library has access to many databases on a variety of topics. A full list of all databases is located at: https://wittenberg.libguides.com/az.php. Many articles are available electronically through the databases. This means that you can view and print the full article right from the computer. A general database covering many topics is a good resource to use for many different papers and projects. Academic Search Complete is one such database. If you're not finding what you need, please ask a librarian for assistance in selecting a database or help in searching.
I found a citation for an article on my topic. How do I find the full-text?
Sometimes the article is available in the database in which you found it. Look for a link that says HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text and click on the link. If you can't link directly to the full text, try clicking on the Find It! link. If you still cannot find it, the online list of Journals the Library Has from the library website --> Find Information --> Journals the Library Has. Here you can type in the title of the periodical in which your article appears. You will then be able to tell if we own the periodical (in either print or electronic form), if we have the date you need, and its location.
My professor put something on reserve. How do I find it?
Hard copy reserves, such as books and videos, are on reserve at the Circulation Desk. Go to https://cat.opal-libraries.org/search/r and search by your professor’s name or your course number and you should be able to find the materials that you need. If you need help or can’t find what you are looking for, please ask a librarian.
All these resources are great, but where can I study in the library?
Thomas Library has many study areas from comfy couches to study carrels, quiet study spaces, and bookable study rooms. The Library Lab is a computer lab located behind the reference collection and is available for use unless a class is taking place in that space. Thomas Library has wireless internet access throughout.
What resources can I access from outside of the library?
Most of Thomas Library’s electronic resources can be accessed from anywhere in the world using the library’s web page. Many can even be used on mobile devices such as smart phones and tablet computers. If you are on the campus network, in Hollenbeck or a residence hall for example, you should not have problems using any of the library’s resources. If you are outside the campus network, you may be prompted to enter your name and 14 digit barcode number from the back of your Wittenberg I.D.
Where do I go for help with my research?
The Research Help Desk is the best place to go to ask for help. Reference librarians are normally available for consultation Monday through Fridays from 8:30am to 5pm. You can also schedule an appointment with a reference librarian for more in-depth work. To set up an appointment with a librarian go to https://wittenberg.libcal.com/appointments/ You can also email us at librarians@wittenberg.edu or stop by the Research Help Desk.
There’s so much to remember, where do I start?
Don’t worry, more information about all of Thomas Library’s resources and services is located on the Thomas Library website: http://www.wittenberg.edu/lib When in doubt, ask a librarian!