Articles - CMDM 301 - Critical Methods - LibGuides at Wittenberg University

Find Articles in Research Databases

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window "Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) is a robust communication studies database. It provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse."
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window "With depth to 1915, the ComAbstracts database contains more than 100,000 abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field as well as bibliographic records."

If the library does not have access to the full text of an article, you can request a copy using Interlibrary Loan (ILL). It typically takes between 3 and 5 business days to get a digital copy of an article via ILL. You will receive an email at your Wittenberg email address when your article is ready.

Ways to look up an example from Foss:

Copy the article title (not the journal title) and paste it into the search box on the library's homepage (One Search).
If the first method is unsuccessful, try copying the journal title and pasting that into the journal search box. If we have access to that journal, you will see some links to access it. You will need the citation information to determine which volume, issue and page number the article starts on.

Library Barcode

You can use your library barcode number to:

Request books through OhioLINK and SearchOhio.
Access your library account to renew your books online and keep tabs on items you have requested and checked out.
Access databases from outside of the campus network.

There are two places you can look to find your library barcode number:

On the back of your Witt ID. It's a 14 digit number that begins with 251 in tiny scrunched up numbers under the barcode.
Log into Self Service and click on your username on the top right of the screen, then select "User Profile". You will see a barcode with your library barcode number underneath.

If you are still having trouble, please contact the library.