Reference sources are some of the best places to find background information on your research topic. Reference, or tertiary, materials are information sources that seek to compile, summarize, organize, or index other sources of knowledge. Examples of reference sources include encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries, bibliographies, textbooks, Wikipedia, and library catalogs.
These types of sources are incredibly useful and important to the research process, but it is important to understand how they should be used. Reference resources should be used to help you expand your foundational knowledge on a topic and refine your project. They are, generally, a starting point for your research, not an end point.
General Reference Resources
Wittenberg provides you access to a number of databases that have a wealth of academic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks covering a variety of topics and disciplines to provide introductions to your area of interest.
Similarly, Wikipedia and general Google searches may also be useful during the early stages of your research project in order to gain a better understanding of your possible topic. Keep in mind that the public nature of these resources means it will be important for you to further verify the accuracy of the information you find through these resources as you develop an academic research project.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints covers today's hot-button social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and more. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
For additional assistance either contact a librarian (on the left side of the page) or check out our Getting Started with Library Research guide.
APA Dictionary of Psychology
by
A Dictionary of Psychology
by
Handbook of Psychology
by
Encyclopedia of Psychology
by
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 4 Volume Set
by
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods
by
