Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide to the Library

This guide will describe resources and services available from the library to support faculty in their research and teaching.

About Thomas Library

Thomas Library Exterior

Thomas Library has over 313,000 volumes in its collection as well as over 79,000 print and electronic periodicals. We provide access to over 200 subject databases and numerous electronic resources.

The original Thomas Library was dedicated in 1954 and occupied the space beside and under Weaver Chapel.  The addition was dedicated in 1982.

Mission Statement -- The mission of Thomas Library is to provide resources and services that meet the information needs of the Wittenberg University community. The Library will make available information resources that support and enhance academic inquiry at Wittenberg and will share these resources with the broader scholarly community as appropriate. The Library will help learners master the use of information resources in order to facilitate education at Wittenberg and to enable and encourage lifelong learning.

Library Staff

Administration

Amanda McLellan, EdD
Director of Thomas Library
mclellana@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7016

Circulation

Karen Balliet
Circulation Administrative Assistant and OhioLINK
kballiet@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7510

Linn Bobo
Circulation Administrative Assistant
lbobo@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7512

Reference

Katie Maxfield
Digital Initiatives Librarian and Assistant Professor
maxfieldk@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7594

Liaison to: English, History (Modern), Honors, Music, Psychology, Sociology, Theatre, World Languages and Cultures

Alisa Mizikar, Reference Librarian

Alisa Mizikar
Reference Librarian and Associate Professor
amizikar@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7515

Liaison to:Art, Biochemistry/Molecular Biology, Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science, Health & Sport Studies, Mathematics, Nursing, Physics

Kristen Peters

Kristen Peters
Reference Librarian and Associate Professor
petersk@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7533

Liaison to: Business, Communication & Digital Media, Economics, Education, International Studies, Political Science

Technical Services

Suzanne Smailes
Head of Technical Services and Associate Professor
ssmailes@wittenberg.edu
937-327-72020

Liaison to: East Asian Studies, History (Ancient/Medieval), Philosophy, Religion, Women's Studies

 

Lori Judy
Library Paraprofessional, Cataloging/Inter-library Loan/Serials
ljudy@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7021

 

 

 

Rachel Littleton
Library Paraprofessional, Circulation and Acquistions
littletonr@wittenberg.edu
937-327-7019

 

 

General Library Contact Information

 

Library Administration

937-327-7016

Circulation Desk

937-327-7512

Research Help Desk

937-327-7511
librarians@wittenberg.edu

Library Hours